Down to Earth Dave’s Post of the Day–April 14

Salutations, Gentle Reader,

I hope you had an amazingly wonderful weekend.  As for me, I had occasion to work on some projects in the office, enjoy marvelous weather and a relaxing stroll through Bryant Park while en route to an improv show featuring Emily Battles at the People’s Improv Theatre on E 24th Street.  (A second presentation will be Saturday, April 19 at 6:00.  If you’re in New York, you might consider going to it.  I promise, you’ll have a good laugh!)  Yesterday saw my assisting in the Palm Sunday lilturgy at St. Luke’s, followed up by a little more work in the office, and some consultation time with one of my proteges, as well as a lengthy conversation with another novice here at Sommerlyn who may become one of my proteges.

Image

ESB at night…April 12, 2014…David!

Image

Empire State Building…taken from Bryant Park by David!, April 12, 2014

Today’s forecast is for the 70’s, and an evening business appointment will be the crown jewel of the day, as I’m already proclaiming success.  Gentle Reader, I find that life throws me the challenges of achieving and maintaining balance.  It seems as soon as one crucial area of life is in a good place, other elements of living have submerged below that optimal level.  I sense that I am on the cusp of some lonely days and evenings ahead, but I also sense a resolution to enjoy life to its fullest and to be ever reminded that happiness may be influenced by that which lies outside of us, but its genesis and true nurture come from within.  It’s time for the next chapter.

Image

It may be time for the next chapter in life. “Just when the world seemed like it was ending, the cocoon split, and from it emerged a butterfly.” (Unknown)

It would be a bit of a logical fallacy to connect emotions to logic, but I would hazard that pinning your happiness to someone else is a sort of logical fallacy, which is really my way of saying it’s time for (Il-)Logical Manic Monday!  This week’s logical fallacy:  Fallacy of Propositional Logic, or as I like to put it:  “Conjunction, junction, is your function to proposition me?”

In simple terms, this fallacy occurs when two statements which are each correct are combined to create a statement that is not correct.  Consider this NYC real estate illustration:

There are apartments for rent in the Upper East Side.

There are apartments in walk-up buildings.

Each of those statements is accurate, but if I combine them into a single statement, AKA a truth collective, I could come up with this:  There are rental apartments in the UES, and the apartments are in walk-up buildings.  On the whole, that isn’t true.  Some apartments are in walk-ups, but there are also apartments in luxury buildings.  Even if I had used a different conjunction, the truth collective would still be inaccurate.

I challenge you to consider the metaphor inherent in this logical fallacy:  singular components do not always contribute to the whole.  A bicycle wheel doesn’t work for a car.  A bathing suit doesn’t work for a January jog in Central Park.  A basketball doesn’t work for a football game.   Seek the truth, but see it for its whole, and know that truthful components have a place in their own collective, which will reveal its truthfulness by its seamless qualities.

Remain calm, and speak well.

Be kind to yourself.  Be kind to the planet and the future.  Cause no suffering.  Go Vegan!

David!

Leave a comment