Down to Earth Dave’s Post of the Day–March 31

Salutations, Gentle Reader,

I trust you had a wonderful, or at the very least satisfying, weekend. As for me, I stayed rather busy, working both my real estate business and a freelance writing project, as well as exploring some additional opportunities to better solidify my present and future. I also had frequent updates from my daughter, who spent the weekend with my mother. They baked cookies, coloured, made pancakes, and more. What else could a little girl and her grandma possibly wish for?

Image

As for you and I, shall we proceed to our next consideration of the (Il)logical Manic Monday series!  Tally Ho!

Within the Landmark curriculum is a consideration of what is called the unanswerable question. Before I write another word, allow me to be clear, I offer just a glimpse into my own experience with Landmark’s curriculum. I encourage everyone to explore it, because I am convinced that the tools offered through Landmark are truly dynamic and can benefit everyone who applies them to their own life. Perhaps some day I will be trained to lead various components of the Landmark curriculum, but anything I share really is my own experiential anecdote.

Gentle Reader, there have been plenty of times in my life that, despite assurances from others, I’ve been absolutely certain that I’m a nice BUT unloveable person. I’ve also been convinced that something is wrong with me. How has that looked?  At times, after receiving some token of affection, I’ve asked directly or mentally “But do you love me?” or “How could you love me?”  In other situations, when someone hasn’t agreed 100% with me, the unanswerable question has presented itself:  “Something must be wrong with me, or you’d be agreeing with me. What’s wrong with me?”

Why is this “unanswerable”?  No matter how fervent a response is shared, or cogent a reply is offered, I’ve not accepted it and fallen directly back on the question, “Yes, but do you love me?” or “No, you can tell me, what’s wrong with me?”

This could be included in several categories of Logical Fallacy, but I see a nice fit with the Masked Man Fallacy.  It plays out like this:

The masked man is Mr. Hyde.
The witness believes that the masked man committed the crime.
Therefore, the witness believes that Mr. Hyde committed the crime.

The unanswerable question plays in like manner:

Something is wrong with me.

My friend doesn’t agree with me 100%.

Therefore, my friend recognizes that something is wrong with me.

I see it in real estate a lot. An apartment falls within a client’s budget and general criteria, yet the client rejects it in hope that there’s something better. By the time they choose to come back to the original option, someone else has taken the apartment. Extended, the client’s unanswerable question plays out like this:

There is always a better apartment.

This apartment meets my budget, location, and actual needs; but I haven’t seen all apartments.

Therefore, if I keep looking, I’ll find a better apartment.

Image

The negative effect of the unanswerable question / masked man fallacy is that it’s debilitating.  Think of the personal energy consumed by repeating the unanswerable question.  Think of the angst the unanswerable question generates within you–and the lives of others.  Now, envision the dynamic of living a life free of this fallacy!  Live that powerful life!

 

 

Remain calm, and speak well.

Be kind to yourself.  Be kind to the planet and the future.  Cause no suffering.  Go Vegan!

David!

Leave a Reply

